There are five national parks in Nunavut representing various examples of Canada’s 39 natural regions – Quttinirpaaq (Eastern High Arctic), Sirmilik (Eastern Arctic Lowlands), Ukkusiksalik (Central Tundra), Auyuittuq (Northern Davis), and Qausuittuq (Western High Arctic).

Auyuittuq, Inuktitut for “Land that Never Melts”, has a dynamic landscape with craggy mountains, sheer granite cliffs, and glaciers that define Akshayuk Pass. Dramatic melt water streams and rivers thunder toward the fiords as intrepid travellers make their way through the pass.

Conservation and research

Established in 2001 on Baffin Island’s Cumberland Peninsula, Auyuittuq National Park sits almost entirely within the Arctic Circle in Canada’s eastern arctic. The park is remarkable for its mountainous terrain, long fiords, ice caps, glaciers and marine fauna. Auyuittuq is among the largest national parks in Canada, protecting 19,089 km2 of Northern Davis Natural Region ecosystem.


Auyuittuq National Park is representative of the Northern Davis Natural Region, an area comprising the south and east coasts of Baffin Island and the east coasts of Devon and Ellesmere Island.