Home / Accueil

Ontario's Heritage Gardens

Flowers / Fleurs

Often forgotten in the shadows of dwellings, gardens are important places that contain incredible heritage value and should not go unnoticed. Gardens are historically important as they offer an excellent look into our past by reflecting the society in which they were constructed.

However, like many historical buildings and monuments, gardens are prone to fall into disrepair and actions must be taken to conserve these areas in order to protect our shared past. To assure the appropriate conservation of heritage sites, the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada were published to protect the heritage value of many types of places, including gardens, throughout the country.

In Ontario, the Ontario Heritage Trust is the province's leading heritage agency managing the protection of heritage sites at the provincial and municipal levels. In partnership with the University of Toronto and owners of historic places, the Garden Conservancy Program has recently been established by the Trust to assume the task of restoring and preserving heritage gardens according to the Standards and Guidelines, as well as promoting awareness and conservation of these culturally important landscapes.

One category in the Garden Conservancy Program is the restoration of significant historic designed gardens. The Trust recently restored the Olmsted-designed garden at Fulford Place National Historic Site of Canada on 287 King Street East in Brockville. This garden is a national historic site and was designed by the Olmsted Brothers, an important American landscape firm that is famous for having designed such gardens as Central Park in New York City. The Fulford garden was Fulford Place, Parks Canada / Fulford Place, Parcs Canadacreated in 1899-1901 to accompany the wealthy estate of businessman and entrepreneur Albert W. Fulford. After years of neglect, the grounds had fallen into bad condition and the Trust recognized the cultural importance of revitalizing the space. Since only the outlines of the geometric planting beds were visible, considerable research was undertaken using archival sources to find pictures and documents to determine proper restoration of the Fulford garden. The work was completed in 2004 and a great part of the heritage significance of the estate was restored.

Jesse Ashbridge House, Ontario Heritage Trust / Maison Jesse Ashbridge, Fiducie du patrimoine ontarienThe Jesse Ashbridge House located on 1444 Queen Street in Toronto is another example of the restoration of a historic vernacular garden accomplished by the Trust. "Vernacular" refers to an architecture that evolves over time to better suit the needs of the current society. Previously, the Ashbridge family had manicured lawns as well as wide flower and vegetable gardens, whereas the site now consists of extensive flower beds. The Trust's goal for this property is to restore the home's garden back to its original splendor by searching through archival material, such as diaries, letters and photographs, that might show the state of the garden at the beginning of the 19th century.

Contrary to popular opinion, not all gardens need to have manicured lawns and perfect rows of flowers. Chiefswood National Historic Site of Canada, located on the Six Nations Reserve in Ontario and home to the famous Canadian poet Pauline Johnson, stands as a connection between English and Native culture. Previous restorations had hindered the historic value of the site by emphasizing the English personality of the house. Kentucky bluegrass and manicured lawns had been utilized during the renovation of the garden giving it a distinct English appearance. To recover the original state of the garden, the lawn had to be burned three summers in a row to allow previous flora to grow wild again. The now historically-accurate garden has been restored for our benefit to its original aboriginal character.

Chiefswood before restoration, Ontario Ministry of Culture / Chiefswood avant la restoration, Ministre de la culture de l'Ontario Chiefswood after restoration, Scott Weir / Chiefswood après la restoration, Scott Weir

Time can take its toll on the appearance of a garden. We spend thousands of dollars every year to protect historic places, and it is time we recognize that gardens are a significant part of the heritage value of many Canadian homes and estates.

Want to learn more about garden preservation and conservation? Visit the Ontario Heritage Trust website as well as the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada. Also visit the showcase "Garden Voices of Ontario's Historic Gardens", that features even more historic gardens in Ontario.

Sources:

Ontario Heritage Trust. "Heritage Garden Conservancy." Accessed January 26, 2011.

RELATED LINKS

Home / Accueil

Les jardins historiques de l'Ontario

Flowers / Fleurs

Souvent oubliés dans l'ombre des grandes demeures, les jardins sont des lieux importants qui renferment une valeur patrimoniale incontestable et ne devraient pas passer inaperçus. Les jardins ont une importance historique certaine, car ils offrent un excellent point de vue sur notre passé du fait qu'ils témoignent de ce qu'était la société à l'époque de leur aménagement.

Toutefois, comme beaucoup de bâtiments et de monuments historiques, les jardins ont tendance à se détériorer et des mesures doivent être prises pour les conserver afin de protéger le passé que nous partageons tous. Pour assurer la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux et protéger la valeur patrimoniale de beaucoup de types d'endroits partout au pays, y compris les jardins, Parcs Canada a publié les Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada.

En Ontario, la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien est le principal organisme responsable de la protection des lieux patrimoniaux aux niveaux provincial et municipal. En partenariat avec l'Université de Toronto et les propriétaires de lieux patrimoniaux, la Fiducie a récemment mis sur pied le Programme de conservation des jardins du patrimoine pour entreprendre un travail de restauration et de préservation des jardins patrimoniaux conformément aux Normes et lignes directrices et pour promouvoir l'importance de conserver ces paysages culturels de grande valeur.Fulford Place, Parks Canada / Fulford Place, Parcs Canada

L'une des catégories du Programme de conservation des jardins du patrimoine est la restauration de jardins historiques aménagés. Récemment, la Fiducie a restauré le jardin Olmsted au lieu historique national du Canada de la Place-Fulford, situé au 287, rue King Est, à Brockville. Créé en 1899-1901 par la Olmsted Brothers, une importante firme américaine d'aménagement paysager reconnue pour sa conception de Central Park, à New York, ce jardin se voulait un complément au riche domaine de l'homme d'affaires et entrepreneur Albert W. Fulford. Après des années de négligence, les jardins se sont grandement détériorés et la Fiducie a reconnu leur importance culturelle et la nécessité de les restaurer. Étant donné que seuls les contours des plates bandes géométriques étaient encore visibles, il a fallu faire énormément de recherches dans les archives pour trouver des images et des documents permettant de déterminer les mesures adéquates de restauration à entreprendre au jardin Olmsted. Les travaux ont été achevés en 2004 et une grande partie de l'importance patrimoniale du domaine a été rétablie.

Jesse Ashbridge House, Ontario Heritage Trust / Maison Jesse Ashbridge, Fiducie du patrimoine ontarienLa maison Jesse Ashbridge, située au 1444, rue Queen, à Toronto, est un autre exemple de restauration de jardin historique accomplie par la Fiducie. Il s'agit cette fois-ci de la catégorie des jardins historiques « vernaculaires », ce mot désignant une architecture qui a évolué avec le temps pour mieux répondre aux besoins de la société de chaque époque. Auparavant, la famille Ashbridge entretenait soigneusement ses pelouses et avait fait aménager de vastes jardins de fleurs et de grands potagers; aujourd'hui, le site est formé d'immenses massifs de fleurs. La Fiducie aimerait restaurer cette propriété de manière à lui rendre sa splendeur d'origine en fouillant dans des documents d'archive, tels que des carnets, des lettres et des photographies, susceptibles de montrer à quoi ressemblait le jardin au début du XIXe siècle.

Contrairement à la croyance populaire, ce ne sont pas tous les jardins qui ont des pelouses bien entretenues et des plates-bandes parfaites. Le lieu historique national du Canada Chiefswood, situé dans la réserve des Six Nations, en Ontario, est le lieu de résidence de Pauline Johnson, célèbre poète d'origine canadienne, et demeure un lien entre les cultures anglaise et autochtone. Des restaurations antérieures avaient nui à la valeur historique du lieu, car elles mettaient l'accent sur le caractère anglais de la maison. Durant ces rénovations, on avait planté des graminées (pâturin des prés) et aménagé des pelouses, ce qui donnait au jardin un style typiquement anglais. Pour remettre le jardin dans son état d'origine, il a fallu brûler la pelouse trois étés de suite pour permettre à l'ancienne végétation de repousser à l'état sauvage. Le jardin, qui a heureusement retrouvé son caractère autochtone, est maintenant représentatif de l'histoire.

Chiefswood before restoration, Ontario Ministry of Culture / Chiefswood avant la restoration, Ministre de la culture de l'Ontario Chiefswood after restoration, Scott Weir / Chiefswood après la restoration, Scott Weir

Le temps peut faire beaucoup de dommages à l'apparence d'un jardin. Chaque année, nous dépensons des milliers de dollars pour protéger les lieux patrimoniaux, et il est temps que nous reconnaissions que les jardins forment une part importante de la valeur patrimoniale de bon nombre de propriétés et de domaines au Canada.

Vous aimeriez en savoir plus sur la préservation et la conservation des jardins? Visitez le site Web de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien. Vous pouvez également consulter les Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada. Visitez aussi la vitrine « Garden Voices of Ontario's Historic Gardens » qui met en vedette encore plus de jardins historiques de l'Ontario (lien en anglais seulement).

Sources :

Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien, « Conservation des jardins du patrimoine », site consulté le 26 janvier 2011,

LIENS CONNEXES