With few predators and surrounded by a fence that restrict them from leaving the park, bison, elk, moose, and deer populations in Elk Island National Park can increase in number where they significantly damage forest and grass ecosystems. This impact can reduce the ecosystem’s ability to support other animals and plants that live there. In Elk Island National Park, forests and grasslands are showing signs of being negatively impacted by high bison, elk, and moose density. To protect ecological integrity and keep these populations healthy, they are actively managed, i.e., periodically removed from the park.

After studying the feasibility and safety of a variety of management options, engaging with the public and stakeholders, a toolbox of options to manage bison, elk, moose, and deer populations when their populations increase to the point they are having a negative impact on their environment was developed. Some options can be used for all species, while others can only work for one. While all options are available for use, sometimes one option may be preferred over others. Examples of potential options include:

Translocation

Translocation occurs when animals from Elk Island National Park are transported to areas outside of the park to reintroduce wildlife into their native range or to augment existing populations. Due to their disease-free status, plains and wood bison from Elk Island are in high demand for conservation projects. More than 3000 bison from the park were translocated to conservation projects all across North America and Russia. Translocation is a preferred management option for both plains bison and wood bison, as long as their disease-free status is maintained. Elk and moose were translocated in the past but this is no longer an option until there is a reliable method of testing for chronic wasting disease on live animals. When providing animals to a receiving agency, organization or Indigenous community, priority is given to conservation projects, which work towards the protection of the species and their habitat, as well as engaging Indigenous partners.

Live sale through auction

The sale of individual animals through a public auction is only available for plains bison and wood bison, as they are identified as livestock under the Government of Alberta regulations. Selling bison through a public auction generates funds that support the bison program. Elk, moose, and deer are excluded from this option because Alberta regulations consider them wildlife and therefore they cannot be sold at public auctions.

Direct sale to abattoir

Direct sale to a federally-certified abattoir is an option for bison, elk, moose, and deer. Abattoirs can buy the animals directly or producers can buy them and use an abattoir to process the animals to sell. At federally certified abattoirs, Canadian Food Inspection Agency inspectors conduct extensive disease testing on each animal to inform the Park on any health concerns present in the animals. This method has been used for bison to conduct extensive disease testing and to ensure disease-free status. This option has also been used for elk.

Related links

Puisqu’ils ont peu de prédateurs et qu’une clôture les empêche de quitter le parc, les bisons, les wapitis, les orignaux et les cerfs du parc national Elk Island peuvent devenir si nombreux qu’ils endommagent considérablement les écosystèmes de forêt et de prairie. Cela peut réduire la capacité de l’écosystème à soutenir les autres animaux et plantes qui y vivent. Dans le parc national Elk Island, les forêts et les prairies présentent des signes de détresse attribuables à une forte densité de bisons, de wapitis et d’orignaux. Pour protéger l’intégrité écologique et préserver la santé de ces populations, nous les gérons activement, c’est-à-dire que nous en retirons périodiquement du parc.

Après avoir étudié la faisabilité et la sécurité de diverses mesures de gestion, et consulté le public et divers intervenants, nous avons créé un répertoire de solutions possibles pour gérer les populations de bisons, de wapitis, d’orignaux et de cerfs lorsqu’elles croissent au point d’avoir des effets négatifs sur leur environnement. Certaines solutions peuvent être utilisées pour toutes les espèces; d’autres, pour une seule. Bien qu’on puisse recourir à toutes ces solutions, il arrive qu’une soit préférée aux autres. Voici des exemples de solutions possibles :

Transplantation

Il y a déplacement lorsque des animaux du parc national Elk Island sont transportés dans des secteurs situés à l’extérieur du parc afin de réintroduire des espèces sauvages dans leur aire de répartition naturelle ou d’augmenter des populations existantes. Comme ils sont exempts de maladies, les bisons des prairies et les bisons des bois du parc sont très recherchés pour les projets de conservation. Plus de 3000 bisons d’entre eux ont été déplacés dans le cadre de projets de conservation un peu partout en Amérique du Nord et en Russie. Le déplacement est toujours la solution préférée pour les bisons des prairies et les bisons des bois, pour autant qu’ils demeurent exempts de maladies. Des wapitis et des orignaux ont été déplacés par le passé, mais cette solution ne pourra plus être utilisée tant qu’on n’aura pas trouvé une méthode fiable pour détecter la maladie débilitante chronique chez les animaux vivants. Lorsqu’on fournit des animaux à un organisme, à une organisation ou à une collectivité autochtone destinataire, la priorité est accordée aux projets de conservation qui visent à protéger l’espèce et son habitat, et à mobiliser les partenaires autochtones.

Vente d’animaux vivants aux enchères

La vente d’animaux individuels au moyen d’enchères publiques n’est possible que pour les bisons des prairies et les bisons des bois, qui sont désignés comme animaux d’élevage en vertu d’un règlement du gouvernement de l’Alberta. La vente de bisons au moyen d’enchères publiques génère des fonds qui appuient le programme de conservation du bison. Cette solution ne peut être adoptée pour les wapitis et les orignaux en raison de la réglementation albertaine, qui les considère comme des animaux sauvages et non comme du bétail; par conséquent, il est impossible de les vendre aux enchères.

Vente directe d’animaux à l’abattoir

La vente directe à un abattoir certifié par le gouvernement fédéral est une solution possible pour le bison, le wapiti, l’orignal et le cerf. Les abattoirs peuvent acheter des animaux directement, ou des producteurs peuvent les acheter et charger un abattoir de transformer les animaux pour la vente. Dans le cas des abattoirs agréés fédéraux, les inspecteurs de l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments procèdent à des tests approfondis de dépistage de maladies sur chaque animal en vue d’informer le parc de tout problème de santé présent. Cette méthode a été utilisée pour les bisons; on a procédé à des analyses de dépistage approfondies afin de garantir qu’ils étaient exempts de maladies. Cette solution a également été utilisée pour des wapitis.

Autres liens