uʔup (moss or lichen)

Lichens are actually two separate organisms, a fungus and an alga, that have a symbiotic relationship. The Seaside Centipede Lichen is pale-green in colour with tiny blueberry or urn-shaped reproductive structures that grow from the upper surface of the body (thalli) of the lichen and grow no bigger than the tip of a sharp pencil (1-2mm). They are tiny! The entire thalli is the size of a pencil eraser. They only grow on the lower branches of old growth Sitka Spruce, in very few places on Vancouver Island’s west coast.


Three Reasons to love the Seaside Centipede Lichen

1. They only grow in very specific places
Rocky Shoreline with Sitka Spruce trees.

The Seaside Centipede Lichen needs such specific conditions to thrive that it has probably always been uncommon. For that reason, we need to do all we can to protect the type of habitat it depends on. This small lichen needs the small tips of lower branches of old growth Sitka Spruce trees in protected outer coast areas that are within a few meters of the high tide line. They also need an added marine nutrient source found in droppings from seabird colonies, sea lion haul outs and Indigenous middens (piles of shells and bones).

2. The closer you look, the more you may find
Two people looking at shoreline with trees

This species was first discovered in Pacific Rim National Park Reserve in the mid-1980s and was only found in two places. After more extensive surveys in the early 2000s the species range was extended to two additional sites: one 130 km north on central Vancouver Island, and the other in the state of Oregon to the south. Currently, there are 12 known sites on Vancouver Island’s west coast, however nearly 90 percent of the known lichen are concentrated at only five of these locations, the majority of which are within the national park reserve.

3. Distinctly west coast species.
Sea lions on a rocky shoreline with a lighthouse in the background

The Seaside Centipede Lichen is a fascinating example of the inter-connectedness of many land and sea creatures. Not only is it important to protect the trees and branches upon which it grows, but also sea birds or sea lions that provide them with essential nutrients. Although these species are at serious risk, we are lucky that many are protected in Canada. 

More information on the Stellar Sea Lion


Three ways to care for the Seaside Centipede Lichen

1. Protect critical habitat.
Hands holding a branch with a finger pointing to lichen.

Parks Canada and Pacific Rim National Park Reserve protect five of the 12 known locations of Seaside Centipede Lichen in Canada. In these locations they are protected from logging, coastal development, tree pruning and vegetation removal.


Parks Canada’s action:
The Canada National Parks Act protects this species from human disturbance and Parks Canada actively educates visitors about the importance of the species and enforces the rules and regulations that protect the species.
Action you can take:

National park reserve visitors are asked to respect closures and to leave all vegetation as they find it. This means staying out of closed areas, not cutting or breaking branches and not collecting tree branches to use as firewood. 

2. Increase awareness of this species.
Lichen on tree branch

With small, short-lived and out of sight species, like the Seaside Centipede Lichen, the more awareness of their existence the better. Learning more and understanding the connections between species and nutrient transport between land and sea is important.


Parks Canada’s action:

Parks Canada led the development of the Recovery Strategy for Seaside Centipede Lichen, under the Species at Risk Act. This strategy highlighted the need to maintain the current population, understand critical habitat requirements, as well as increase research and public education.   

Action you can take:

Do your part to ensure healthy ecosystems remain for generations to come. Respect Rockfish Conservation Areas and federal Marine Mammal Regulations. The effects of fishing and disturbance on marine mammals and seabirds has far wider impacts than you might imagine.

3. Ongoing monitoring of known sites.
A Parks Canada employee looking for lichen on a tree branch

The saying “the more eyes the better” is certainly true for this species. Until more extensive studies were conducted by Parks Canada in 2001, the Seaside Centipede Lichen was only known to be present in two locations. 


Parks Canada’s action:
Parks Canada scientists conduct ongoing monitoring of the known sites within Pacific Rim National Park Reserve. 
Action you can take:
Learn more about rare species at risk in your area. If you think you’ve found a rare species, make sure to not disturb it and contact the BC Conservation Data Center.

For more information view the Seaside Centipede Lichen on the Species at Risk Registry

uʔup (mousse ou lichen)

Le lichen est constitué de deux organismes; un champignon et une algue en relation symbiotique. L’hétérodermie maritime est un lichen de couleur vert pâle comportant de minuscules structures reproductives en forme de bleuets ou d’urnes pas plus gros que la pointe d’un crayon bien taillé (1 à 2 mm) qui poussent sur la partie supérieure de son corps (thalles). Le thalle en entier a la grosseur d’une gomme à effacer sur le bout d’un crayon! Elle ne pousse que sur les branches inférieures de vieilles épinettes de Sitka à quelques rares endroits de la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver. 


Trois raisons d’aimer l’hétérodermie maritime 

1. Elle ne pousse qu’à des endroits très précis.
Rivage rocheux avec des épinettes de Sitka

Les conditions de croissance de l’hétérodermie maritime sont tellement particulières qu’elle a probablement toujours été rare. C’est pourquoi nous devons faire tout en notre pouvoir pour protéger l’habitat dont elle dépend. Cette petite espèce pousse sur les petites extrémités des branches inférieures de vieilles épinettes de Sitka dans les zones côtières protégées à quelques mètres de la ligne de marée haute. Pour survivre, elle doit aussi avoir accès à une source de nutriments marins provenant des déjections des colonies d’oiseaux marins, d’échoueries d’otaries et d’amas coquilliers (amas de coquilles et d’ossements).

2. En l’examinant de près, vous découvrirez ses secrets.
Deux personnes regardant le ravage avec des arbres.

Cette espèce a d’abord été découverte à deux sites bien précis dans la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim au milieu des années 1980. Après des enquêtes supplémentaires au début des années 2000, deux sites supplémentaires ont été ajoutés : un à 130 km au nord de l’île de Vancouver et l’autre au sud, dans l’État de l’Oregon. Aujourd’hui, on compte plus de 12 sites sur la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver, mais près de 90 % de la population connue est répartie sur cinq de ces sites. La grande majorité d’entre eux se trouvent dans la réserve de parc national. 

3. Une espèce au cachet typiquement côte Ouest.
Les lions de mer sur un ravage rocheux avec un phare en arrière-plan

L’hétérodermie maritime est un exemple fascinant de l’interdépendance de nombreuses créatures terrestres et maritimes. Non seulement est-il essentiel de protéger les arbres et rameaux sur lesquels elle pousse, mais aussi les oiseaux et les otaries qui la nourrissent. Malgré le risque important qui pèse sur ces espèces, nous avons la chance d’en protéger plusieurs au Canada. 

Pour avoir plus de renseignements sur l’otarie de Steller, rendez-vous à l’adresse


Trois façons de prendre soin de l’hétérodermie maritime

1. Protéger son habitat.
Des mains tenant une branche avec un doigt pointé vers le lichen.

Parcs Canada et la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim protègent cinq des douze habitats connus de l’hétérodermie maritime au Canada. Ces emplacements sont ainsi exempts d’exploitation forestière, d’aménagement du littoral, d’élagage d’arbres et de destruction de la végétation.


Mesures prises par Parcs Canada 
La Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada protège cette espèce de l’action humaine et Parcs Canada sensibilise activement les visiteurs sur son importance et s’assure que les règlements de protection sont respectés.
Mesures que vous pouvez prendre

Les visiteurs du parc national doivent respecter les zones fermées et ne pas toucher à la végétation. Cela signifie de ne pas entrer dans les zones fermées, de ne pas couper ou briser des branches et de ne pas les ramasser pour faire un feu. 

2. Faire de la sensibilisation.
Lichen sur une branche d’arbre

Les espèces discrètes à brève durée de vie, comme l’hétérodermie maritime, gagnent beaucoup à être connues. En effet, il est important de connaître et de comprendre en profondeur les liens entre les espèces et l’échange de nutriments terrestres et maritimes.


Mesures prises par Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada a mené le développement du programme de rétablissement de l’hétérodermie maritime aux termes de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Ce programme souligne l’importance de maintenir la population actuelle, de connaître ses besoins en matière d’habitat en plus d’augmenter la recherche et l’éducation publique sur l’espèce.

Mesures que vous pouvez prendre

Faites votre part pour préserver les écosystèmes pour les prochaines générations. Respectez les aires de conservation des sébastes et le Règlement fédéral sur les mammifères marins. Les effets de la pêche et de l’activité humaines sur les mammifères et les oiseaux marins sont beaucoup plus importants qu’on le croit.

3. Surveillance continue des sites connus.
Un employé de Parcs Canada à la recherce de lichen sur une branche d’arbre.

Pour cette espèce, il n’y aura jamais trop de surveillance. Avant les enquêtes importantes menées par Parcs Canada en 2001, on croyait que l’hétérodermie maritime ne se trouvait qu’à deux endroits. 


Mesures prises par Parcs Canada
Les scientifiques de Parcs Canada font de la surveillance continue des sites connus dans la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim. 
Mesures que vous pouvez prendre
Apprenez-en plus sur les espèces rares en péril dans votre région. Si vous croyez avoir trouvé une espèce rare, ne la touchez pas et communiquez avec le Centre de données sur la protection de la nature de la Colombie-Britannique.

Apprenez-en plus sur l’hétérodermie maritime en consultant le Registre des espèces en péril