The new exhibits at the Visitor Centre feature interactive experiences in the comfort of the familiar historic building. Through the theme of Home, visitors can connect with magnificent wildlife, fascinating ecological projects, inspiring Indigenous history and the powerful traditional Anishinabe culture.

The new panels welcome you to the park, walk you through the seasons, teach you about species at risk, and share the stories of Anishinabe. Enjoy digital displays and an interactive bison puzzle!

Park wildlife
Photo: Meg Kanyo
Ecological projects
Photo: Meg Kanyo
Anishinabe culture
Photo: Ingrid Gatin

Riding Mountain is home.

It is home to a staggering diversity of living things— of windswept parklands and deep, silent forests, of secretive wolf packs, of orchids and lilies, of lakes and wetlands singing with life.

It is home to the Anishinabe, who have raised their families, cared for the land, and hunted and fished here for generations, and who, despite being made unwelcome here in the past, are an integral part of the life of the Park.

Riding Mountain is home to residents and neighbours, who are caretakers for the park and protectors of its surrounding lands.

Riding Mountain is home to a sprawling, wild, protected environment, with living systems remarkable in their resilience and productivity. It is a land of rugged escarpments and gentle hills; of remote backcountry trails and campsites; of star-filled skies and dancing northern lights; of crisp autumn mornings and vivid summer sunsets, of sparkling winter hoarfrost over well-loved ski trails.

And it is the home of Wasagaming townsite, a hub of heritage architecture and family traditions, of days spent swimming, walking and sunning around Clear Lake; a place of ice cream and barbecues and time spent relaxing under the summer sun with family and friends.

Les nouvelles expositions du centre d’accueil proposent des expériences interactives dans le confort de ce bâtiment historique qu’on connaît bien. Établies sur le thème de la maison, les expositions permettent aux visiteurs de se rapprocher d’une faune sauvage magnifique et de découvrir des projets écologiques fascinants, une histoire autochtone inspirante et la puissante culture traditionnelle anichinabée.

Les nouveaux panneaux vous souhaitent la bienvenue dans le parc, vous font découvrir les saisons, vous renseignent sur les espèces en péril et vous racontent les histoires des Anichinabés. Amusez-vous avec les écrans numériques et le casse-tête de bison interactif !

Faune du parc
Photo : Meg Kanyo
Projets écologiques
Photo : Meg Kanyo
Culture Anichinabée
Photo : Ingrid Gatin

Le mont Riding : le sentiment d’être chez soi.

C’est là que la vie a élu domicile : les terres balayées par le vent, les forêts profondes et silencieuses, les meutes de loups furtives, les orchidées et les lys, les lacs et les terres humides — ils chantent tous un hymne à la vie.

C’est à cet endroit que vivent les Anichinabés, qu’ils élèvent leur famille, prennent soin de la terre, chassent et pêchent depuis des générations, et qui, bien qu’ils y aient été mal accueillis dans le passé, font partie intégrante de la vie du parc.

Le mont Riding, c’est le centre de vie de ses résidents et voisins, qui sont les gardiens du parc et des terres environnantes.

Le mont Riding est un environnement sauvage et protégé dont les systèmes vivants sont remarquables en raison de leur résilience et de leur productivité. C’est une terre d’escarpements accidentés et de douces collines; de sentiers d’arrière-pays isolés et de terrains de camping; de tranquilles ciels étoilés et d’aurores boréales dansantes; de fraîches matinées d’automne et de couchers de soleil d’été éclatants; de gelées blanches scintillantes et de sentiers de ski populaires.

La région abrite aussi le lotissement urbain de Wasagaming, un carrefour d’architecture patrimoniale et de traditions familiales, où l’on passe ses journées à nager, à se promener et à profiter du soleil au lac Clear; un lieu de détente estivale sous le soleil, de crèmes glacées et de barbecues entre amis et en famille.