With 700 km of Great Slave Lake shoreline, Thaidene Nene National Park Reserve beckons paddling enthusiasts. Great Slave Lake is the 10th largest lake in the world, measuring 28,568 square kilometres (just a bit smaller than Belgium). It is North America’s deepest lake, plunging to 614m in Christie Bay near Łútsël K'é.

If big lake paddling is not your cup of tea, then there are countless other lakes that you can tailor to your personal interests and skills, or join a guided tour . Routes can include exposed shoreline, protected bays, chains of lakes and rivers - the degree of difficulty varies.

Paddling destinations include:

  • Great Slave Lake
    • Charlton Bay
    • Wildbread Bay
    • Pike’s Portage
    • Fort Reliance National Historic Site
  • Other lakes and rivers
    • Eileen Lake
    • Artillery Lake
    • Snowdrift River* to Siltaza Lake

Paddling into the National Park Reserve is possible from Yellowknife and Fort Resolution; however, groups need to have advanced skills and be prepared to wait for favourable wind and wave conditions. Others may choose to charter a plane or boat to transport their gear and themselves into the park, or fly into Łútsël K'é and start their journey from there.

Practice Leave No Trace camping to enable other paddlers to enjoy a pristine wilderness experience.

See this page with Denesǫłine Yati traditional place names.

*Most paddlers on the Snowdrift River take out at Siltaza or Austin Lake. The section from Austin Lake to Stark Lake is not for tripping canoes. Below Austin Lake advanced whitewater paddling skills are required; there are stretches of class IV rapids, a few class Vs and one class VI waterfall. You must be prepared to scout and portage.

Le Grand lac des Esclaves compte 700 km de berges et la réserve de parc national Thaidene Nene interpelle les amateurs de pagaie. Le Grand lac des Esclaves est le 10e plus grand lac du monde et s’étend sur 28 568 kilomètres carrés (juste un peu moins que la Belgique). C’est le lac le plus profond en Amérique du Nord. La profondeur est de 614 m dans la baie Christie Bay près de Łútsël K'é.

Si vous n’aimez pas particulièrement pagayer sur de grands lacs, il y a d’innombrables autres lacs que vous pouvez choisir en fonction de vos intérêts personnels et de vos aptitudes, ou vous pouvez faire un voyage guidé. Les itinéraires peuvent comprendre des rivages exposés, des baies protégées et des chaînes de lacs et de rivières. Le degré de difficulté varie.

Destinations de pagaie :

  • Grand lac des Esclaves
    • baie Charlton
    • baie Wildbread
    • Portage Pike
    • Lieu historique national Fort Reliance
  • Autres lacs et rivières
    • Lac Eileen
    • lac Artillery
    • rivière Snowdrift* au lac Siltaza

Vous pouvez vous rendre dans la réserve de parc national en pagayant au départ de Yellowknife et de Fort Resolution. Vous devez toutefois être expérimenté et prêt à attendre un vent et des vagues favorables. Autrement, vous pouvez choisir d’affréter un avion ou un bateau pour transporter leur matériel dans le parc, ou prendre l’avion jusqu’à Łútsël K'é et partir de là.

Campez en respectant les principes Sans trace afin de permettre aux autres pagayeurs de profiter d’une expérience inoubliable en milieu sauvage.

Voir cette page avec les noms de lieux traditionnels Denesǫłine Yati.

*La plupart des pagayeurs sur la rivière Snowdrift arrêtent leur voyage au lac Siltaza ou Austin. Le tronçon entre le lac Austin et le lac Stark ne convient pas aux canots. Vous devez posséder d’excellentes aptitudes en descente en eaux vives en aval du lac Austin en raison de rapides de classe IV, de quelques rapides de classe V et d’une chute de classe VI. Vous devez en outre être prêt à faire des reconnaissances et du portage.