Respectful Travel I Rules and Regulations  I Leave No Trace

When travelling in Thaidene Nene National Park Reserve be respectful of the people, the land and the waters. Indigenous people can and may be exercising their traditional rights (e.g., harvesting wildlife and other on the land activities). These rights must be respected. Traditional harvesting is an integral part of this ecosystem.

Areas with cultural significance within Thaidene Nene National Park Reserve may have specific management requirements and special protection status. This means that certain areas of the park may be closed due to cultural significance or activities. Please check for area closures prior to travel.

You are welcome to engage with Indigenous people and cultural activities during planned visitor programs. You can also experience the land with a local Indigenous guide whose family has lived in this landscape for generations. In doing so, you can immerse yourself in an authentic cultural experience and contribute to the local economy. Please be respectful that, outside of planned activities, Indigenous people on the land may not want visitors interacting with them or taking photos. If an Indigenous person shares a story or passes on their knowledge to you, credit needs to be given to the Indigenous person or people from which they came from.

Łutsël K’é Dene First Nation, the Northwest Territories Métis Nation, Deninu Kųę́ First Nation, and the Yellowknives Dene First Nation all have important roles in the management of Thaidene Nene National Park Reserve. You will find people from these nations, and others, travelling, harvesting and working in the park.

For Łutsël K’é Dene First Nation, Thaidene Nene is the heart of their homeland. They run the Ni Hat’ni Dene Rangers, a guardian program. The Ni Hat’ni Dene are stewards of cultural sites and the environment. They also serve as hosts and provide interpretive tours for visitors. You may see the rangers and their boats in the National Park Reserve and Territorial Protected Area.

If you are planning to visit the community of Łutsël K’é during your trip, make the most of your visit (and minimize the impact of tourism) by contacting the Łutsël K’é Dene First Nation before your departure at tdndepartment@gmail.com. Accommodation in the community is limited and must be planned in advance.

Respectful Travel I Rules and Regulations  I Leave No Trace

Déplacements respectueux I Règles et règlements I Sans trace

Lorsque vous vous déplacez dans la réserve de parc national Thaidene Nene, soyez respectueux des gens, de la terre et de l’eau. Les Autochtones peuvent exercer leurs droits traditionnels (p. ex. récolte d’animaux et autres). Ces droits doivent être respectés. La récolte traditionnelle fait partie intégrante de cet écosystème.

Les aires d’importance culturelle dans la réserve de parc national Thaidene Nene peuvent faire l’objet d’exigences particulières en matière de gestion et d’un statut de protection spécial. Ceci veut dire que certains secteurs du parc peuvent être fermés en raison de leur importance ou d’activités culturelles. Veuillez vérifier les fermetures de secteurs avant de partir.

Vous pouvez interagir avec des Autochtones et participer à des activités culturelles durant les programmes prévus pour les visiteurs. Vous pouvez également découvrir le territoire avec un guide autochtone local (anglais seulment) dont la famille vit ici depuis des générations. Ce faisant, vous pouvez vivre une expérience culturelle authentique et contribuer à l’économie locale. Respectez le fait qu’en dehors des programmes, les peuples autochtones ne veulent pas nécessairement interagir avec les visiteurs ou se faire prendre en photo. Veuillez noter que si une personne vous raconte une histoire ou vous transmet son savoir, il doit être fait mention de la personne ou du peuple autochtone qui en est à l’origine.

La Première Nation des Dénés de Łutsël K'é, la Nation métisse des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, la Première Nation Deninu K’ue et la Première Nation des Dénés Yellowknives jouent toutes un rôle important dans la gestion de la réserve de parc national Thaidene Nene. Vous verrez des gens de ces nations, et d’autres, qui se déplacent, récoltent et travaillent dans le parc.

La Première Nation des Dénés de Łutsël K'é considère Thaidene Nëné comme le cœur de sa patrie. Elle gère le programme des gardes des Dénés de Ni Hat’ni (anglais seulement). Les Dénés de Ni Hat’ni sont les intendants des sites culturels et de l’environnement. Ils sont également des hôtes et offrent des excursions d’interprétation aux visiteurs. Vous pourriez voir les gardes et leurs bateaux dans la réserve de parc national et l’aire territoriale protégée.

Si vous prévoyez de visiter la collectivité de Łutsël K’é durant votre voyage, profitez pleinement de votre visite (et réduisez l’impact du tourisme) en contactant la Première Nation des Dénés de Łutsël K’é avant de partir á tdndepartment@gmail.com. L’hébergement est limité et doit être organisé d’avance.

Déplacements respectueux I Règles et règlements I Sans trace