Saint-Ours Canal National Historic Site
The Saint-Ours canal is a place of relaxation and a resort that offers an exceptional setting as well as magnificent views of the Richelieu River. Recreational boaters, strollers and oTENTik campers flock to the site each year to take advantage of this unique setting.
Visiting Saint-Ours Canal National Historic Site
Find activities for everyone at the Saint-Ours Canal: family picnics, cycling along the Richelieu River or spending the night in an oTENTik.
How to get there, fees, hours of operation, passes, permits, guidelines and more.
Information on navigation and lockage: routes, night mooring and much more.
A perfect mix between a tent and a rustic cottage, the oTENTik offers cozy beds and basic equipment. The joys of camping in all its simplicity!
About Saint-Ours Canal National Historic Site
History, archeology, cultural landscape, architecture, historic engineering.
Conservation and science, animals, plants, the environment, and research.
Jobs, communications, partners, occupancy permits, public consultations, plans and policies and more!
More places to discover with Parks Canada
A veritable open-air museum, the Lachine Canal recounts the beginnings of industrialization in Montreal. Explore the ingenuity of this 1825 structure. Follow its urban course, sail through the locks by boat, and enjoy an oasis in the city.
A mere 20 kilometres from Montreal, an oasis awaits cycling and outdoor enthusiasts: the Chambly Canal NationalHistoric Site. Observe the locks and bridges providing passage to boaters, and in August, admire the hot-air balloons darting between the clouds. It's magical.
Roughly 30 kilometres southeast of Montreal, Fort Chambly rises proudly at the foot of the Richelieu River rapids. Built in 1711 to defend the colony, this stone fortification was preceded by three wooden forts.
Treat yourself to a stroll through history. First, take the ferry from Saint-Paul-de-l'Île-aux-Noix then, five minutes later, step into the Fort Lennox Garrison. Built between 1819 and 1829, every nook and cranny in this British fortification has been preserved.
- Date modified :